15 NDSCS Student-Athletes Named to All-Academic Team

15 NDSCS Student-Athletes Named to All-Academic Team

The 2019-20 academic year presented unprecedented challenges to NJCAA student-athletes, but through determination and excellence in the classroom, 9,555 student-athletes garnered All-Academic recognition for achieving a GPA above 3.6.

"NJCAA student-athletes proved that no obstacle is too difficult to overcome," stated NJCAA President & CEO Dr. Chirstopher Parker. "These difficulties pushed our student-athletes to the limit this year, but the opportunity to overcome these challenges presented itself and our student-athletes flourished academically. The association commends all individuals for their continued success on the playing surfaces and in the classrooms."

Student-athletes are eligible to earn academic honors by achieving an overall GPA of 3.60 or higher for the 2019-20 academic year. The criteria for the three All-Academic teams are listed below:

                NJCAA All-Academic First Team: 4.00 GPA
                NJCAA All-Academic Second Team: 3.80-3.99 GPA
                NJCAA All-Academic Third Team: 3.60-3.79 GPA

North Dakota State College of Science had 15 athletes recognized at NJCAA All-Academic, while the women’s basketball team and volleyball team were also named as NJCAA Academic Teams of the Year after earning a 3.37 GPA and 3.24 GPA respectively.

NDSCS All-Academic Performers (by sport)

Women’s Basketball

So. Kate Carlson | First Team

So. Nikki Metcalf | First Team

Fr. Emily-Kate Parker | First Team

Fr. Isabel Thomas | First Team

So. Justyna Butler | Second Team

So. Emma Nielsen | Third Team

So. Emma Ogitchida | Third Team


So. Haydee Krieg | First Team

Fr. Kaitlyn Emmil | Second Team

So. Cassandra Geraets | Third Team

Fr. Allison Gruber | Third Team

Fr. Katie Krieger | Third Team

So. Lily Pyle | Third Team


Fr. Grace Hagen | Second Team


So. Ethan Hennen | Third Team

To view a full list of all student-athlete award winners, visit: NJCAA All-Academic Awards | To read more, visit: NJCAA Academic Teams of the Year announced