Seward, Phillips named Honorable Mention All-American

Seward, Phillips named Honorable Mention All-American

North Dakota State College of Science football players Nate Seward and Desean Phillips were named to the 2019 NJCAA Football All-America team, as announced recently by the National Junior College Athletic Association.

Seward, an All-MCAC selection as a freshman, finished his sophomore campaign with 28 tackles, seven interceptions and 12 passes defended. His interception total placed him second nationally, while his 12 PBUs was tied for the fifth highest total in the nation.

Phillips proved to be one of the nation’s top freshmen, rushing for an NJCAA-high 1,308 yards. He also led the nation with 130.8 rushing yards per game and finished second in rushing touchdowns with 16. He reached the century mark in eight of his 10 games this season.

Five football student-athletes from the Minnesota College Athletic Conference received the prestigious honor.

Seward and Phillips were joined by the Itasca Community College trio of Antwan Downs, Ranadree Bradley and Cameron Strapp.

Selected by the NJCAA Football Committee, the All-America teams are comprised of 75 student-athletes who were the top performers among the 54 NJCAA football programs.  The All-America award process consists of First Team, Second Team and Honorable Mention squads on Offense, Defense and Special Teams. 

The Minnesota College Athletic Conference stands as the only non-scholarship NJCAA football conference in the country and was well represented by five honorees appearing among the nation's 75 elite football athletes.  

The MCAC Football All-America selections are presented by Adidas, Nicklasson Athletic Company and the United States Marine Corps who head up the MCAC sponsorship roster as the nation's largest NJCAA Division III athletic Conference.

For the complete NJCAA release, please click here or go to: